Global Travel Awards Entry Deadline Extended

The Australian Society of Travel Writers (ASTW), the British Guild of Travel Writers (BGTW), and the Society of American Travel Writers (SATW) have been gratified over the enthusiastic reception that greeted the announcement of the inaugural Global Travel Awards.  

Presented by the Global Travel Media Alliance (GTMA), the three prestigious awards — for 2020 Global Travel Writer, Photographer and Communicator — were announced at TravMedia’s IMM in January.  Entries have rolled in steadily and members of the three organizations have shared their excitement over the prizes that will be awarded to winners in May.

To ensure that all members, many of whom have been traveling during the entry period, have sufficient time to prepare their work for submission, the Alliance has elected to extend the deadline for entries to Monday, March 9, 2020, 11:59 p.m. HST.

The GTMA will present three awards, based on work produced in 2019:

  • 2020 Global Travel Writer
    Prize: a five-night stay at Raffles Singapore, sponsored by Accor

  • 2020 Global Travel Photographer
    Prize: a 15-day Arctic cruise, sponsored by Abercrombie & Kent

  • 2020 Global Travel Communicator (for Associate members)
    Prize: a $5,000 Apple gift card, sponsored by TravMedia

The entry fee for each of the categories is US$25.  Submissions are open only to members of SATW, ASTW and BGTW.  Judging will be by an independent panel, three per category (nine total) comprised of top travel editors, photographers, and PR professionals representing the US-Canada, Great Britain, and Australia.

To see contest rules and submission information, visit