The inaugural Global Travel Awards, presented by the Global Travel Media Alliance, is open for entries through February 28, 2020. The alliance will present three awards, based on 2019 work:



  • 2020 Global Travel Writer – Prize: a five-night stay at Raffles in Singapore, sponsored by Accor
  • 2020 Global Travel Photographer – Prize: a 15-day Arctic cruise sponsored by Abercrombie & Kent
  • 2020 Global Travel Communicator (for Associate members) – Prize: a $5,000 Apple gift card, sponsored by TravMedia



Submissions are open only to members of SATW, ASTW and BGTW. Judging will be by an independent panel, three per category (nine total) of top travel editors, photographers, and PR professionals representing the US-Canada, Great Britain, and Australia.



Winners will be announced on May 12, 2020.  To see contest rules and submission information visit



What is the Global Travel Media Alliance?
The GTMA is a collaboration between the Society of American Travel Writers (SATW), the British Guild of Travel Writers (BGTW) and the Australian Society of Travel Writers (ASTW). In September 2018, the three organizations, which represent the top travel writers, photographers, and PR professionals in three regions of the world, signed an agreement to identify synergies, to share best practices, and to collaborate on bi-national projects. The Global Travel Awards, open to members of SATW, BGTW and ASTW, represents a significant initiative. Thank you to Barbara Orr and David Swanson for their many hours of work on the Global Travel Media Alliance and the Global Travel Awards to bring new collaborations to the members of SATW.