

For Immediate Release

MEDIA CONTACT: Anietra Hamper, SATW Communications Manager Cell: (614) 562-8147 | E-mail: <u>anietra.satw@gmail.com</u>

CORRECTED: SOCIETY OF AMERICAN TRAVEL WRITERS ANNOUNCES 2020 WINNERS OF THE BILL MUSTER PHOTO COMPETITION

El Paso, TEXAS (Oct. 31, 2019) – The <u>Society of American Travel Writers</u> (SATW) announces a correction to the list of winners in the 2020 Bill Muster Photo Competition that were honored last week during its annual convention in El Paso. SATW named Kerrick James the **2020 Photographer of the Year** in the organization's annual Bill Muster Photo Competition.

The 2020 Bill Muster Photo Competition recognizes outstanding photography in the following categories: Photographer of the Year (a portfolio of 20 photos), Single Subject Portfolio (10 photos), Action/Adventure, Animal, Culture, Natural Scenic, People (General) and People (Portrait). Winners were selected from 1,437 photo entries. Following are the winners in each category:

<u>Photographer of the Year:</u> Gold – Kerrick James, Silver – Laura Watilo Blake, Bronze – Donnie Sexton

<u>Single Subject Portfolio:</u> Gold – Mary Love, Silver – Gail Mooney-Kelly, Bronze – Sylvia Longmire,

<u>Action/Adventure:</u> Gold – Chad Case, Silver – Julie Bielenberg, Bronze – Shelly Rivoli, Honorable Mention – Chad Case

Animal:

Gold – Steve Rosenberg, Silver – Lydia Schrandt, Bronze – Phil Marty, Honorable Mentions – Steve Bly, Matthew Payne (two Honorable Mention awards)

<u>Cultural:</u>

Gold – Gail Mooney-Kelly, Silver – Eric Lindberg, Bronze – Art Meripol, Honorable Mention – Larry Bleiberg

Natural Scenic:

Gold – Dave Bouskill, Silver – Ellen Clark, Bronze – Lola Akerstrom, Honorable Mentions – Greg Vaughn, Leonard Garrison

People General:

Gold – Mark Downey, Silver – Phil Marty, Bronze – Stuart Dee, Honorable Mentions – Lola Akerstrom, Shelly Rivoli

People Portrait:

Gold – Yulia Denisyuk, Silver – Lola Akerstrom, Bronze – Carol Patterson, Honorable Mentions – Eric Lindberg, Lola Akerstrom

SATW has honored the finest in editorial travel photography with the SATW Bill Muster Photo Competition (formerly the Bill Muster Photo Showcase) since 1981.

"The awards were named for Bill Muster, a photographer and beloved member of SATW who passed away in 1989. For thirty years, his children Nori and Bill Jr., have generously continued their father's legacy with an annual gift which funds the cash prizes awarded for individual photos as well as portfolios. SATW's Board of Directors values the Muster family's passion for capturing the world's monuments and people, its natural landscapes and culture, through the lens of a camera, and for their support of SATW's photographers," said David Swanson, SATW President.

The mission of SATW is *Inspiring Travel Through Responsible Journalism*. SATW's membership is comprised of 1,000 members including: journalists, photographers, editors; bloggers and online content providers; film lecturers, radio, television and film producers; and tourism-industry public relations representatives. SATW is a nonprofit 501(c)(6) professional association.

SATW, 1 Parkview Plaza, 17W110 22nd St., Suite 800, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181 Telephone: (847) 686-2250 | Email: <u>info@satw.org</u> | Website: <u>www.SATW.org</u>.