

Photos by 2021 Muster Photographer of the Year, Susan Portnoy

For Immediate Release Contact: Victoria Larson victoria@vklarsoncommunications.com 917-678-7689

The Society of American Travel Writers (SATW) Announces the 2021 Winners of its Coveted Bill Muster Photography Awards

New York, NY – October 16, 2020 – Susan Portnoy has taken top honors as 2021 Photographer of the Year in the prestigious Bill Muster Photography Awards presented annually by SATW, North America's premier travel media organization.

Named for the late Bill Muster, a renowned photographer and SATW member, the SATW Muster Photo Competition recognizes excellence in travel photography featuring nature, people and cultures. The images taken between July 1, 2018, and June 30, 2020, allow photographers to showcase work prior to the pandemic shutdown. Entrants must be SATW members.

"This year's winners reflect the passion and high standards of the awards' namesake," said Jane Wooldridge, SATW President. "Since Bill Muster's death in 1989, his children Nori and Bill Jr., have generously continued their father's legacy with an annual gift which funds the cash prizes awarded for individual photos as well as portfolios. SATW's Board of Directors values the Muster family's passion for capturing the world's monuments and people, its natural landscapes and culture, through the lens of a camera, and for their support of SATW's photographers."

After serving in WWII, Bill Muster graduated from the University of Illinois and devoted his life to capturing images for newspapers and media companies, and was a venerated member of the SATW community. Since 1981, SATW has presented the Muster Awards and cash prizes for travel photography in a range of categories awarded at the annual convention.

The <u>Bill Muster Photo Competition</u> awards are presented annually at the SATW Convention. Also presented at the convention are <u>the Phoenix Awards</u>, given to destinations for cultural and natural preservation, and the <u>Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Awards</u>, the industry's highest honors in travel journalism.

This year's SATW Muster 2021 Winners Are:

Photographer of the Year: Gold - Susan Portnoy; Silver - Blaine Harrington III; Bronze - Eric Lindberg

Single Subject: Gold: - Art Meripol; Silver - Mary Love; Bronze - Chuck Cecil

Action/Adventure: Gold - Carol Waller; Silver - Dino Vournas; Bronze - Stuart Dee; HM - Alison Wright; HM - April Orcutt

Animal: Gold - Stuart Dee; Silver - Lydia Schrandt; Bronze - Karen Laperi; HM - Donnie Sexton; HM - Paul Rubio

Culture: Gold - Leonard Garrison; Silver - Eric Stoen; Bronze - Eric Stoen; HM - Matthew Payne; HM - Michael Snell

Natural Scenic: Gold - Dave Bouskill; Silver - Doug Peebles; Bronze - Cosmo Condina; HM - Stuart Dee; HM - Mark Downey

People General: Gold - Stuart Dee; Silver - Eric Stoen; Bronze - Eric Stoen; HM - Cosmo Condina; HM - Robson Cadore

People Portrait: Gold - Donnie Sexton; Silver - Christopher Baker; Bronze - Donnie Sexton; HM - Christopher Baker; HM - Yulia Denisyuk

The SATW Membership

Founded in 1955 before the Internet was born and when print media reigned, SATW and its members have adapted continually to meet an-ever changing media landscape. Today, SATW remains the nation's premier professional travel media organization comprising 1,000 of the travel industry's most experienced journalists, photographers, editors, broadcast/video/film producers, bloggers, website owners, media relations experts and hospitality industry representatives from the United States, Canada and beyond. All members must meet and maintain the industry's highest standards of productivity, ethics and conduct, and support SATW's mission of "Inspiring Travel through Responsible Journalism."

A Welcoming and Vibrant Community

SATW is a vibrant resource in and to the travel industry for bringing travel media and destinations together. It is a community where professionals have meetings that result in business but also where professionals can come together to share peer-to-peer best practices, experiences and build relationships.

In this pivotal year, SATW has continued serving its membership through ongoing professional development. It also has championed the ongoing struggle for racial equality with formal statements of diversity, equity and inclusion publicly welcoming all races, religions, ethnicities, physical abilities and the LBGTQ community. This initiative is supported by an active Diversity, Equity, Accessibility and Inclusion Committee, which presents programs on diversity and seeks to ensure membership is inclusive and welcoming to all professionals.

MEDIA REQUESTS: For additional information and interviews with <u>SATW President Jane</u> <u>Wooldridge</u>, incoming SATW President Larry Bleiberg, contact SATW's External Communications Manager, Victoria Larson, <u>victoria@vklarsoncommunications.com</u>.

For information about SATW and its membership, contact SATW Executive Director Marla Schrager, <u>mschrager@satw.org</u>. For information about the Phoenix Award, contact Phoenix Chair Toby Saltzman, <u>tobysaltzman@rogers.com</u>.

+++++