2024 SATW Bill Muster Photo Awards Announced

Eric Lindberg, photographer

Named for the late Bill Muster, a renowned photographer and SATW (Society of American Travel Writers) member, the SATW Bill Muster Photo Awards recognize excellence in travel photography featuring nature, people, and cultures.

After serving in WWII, Bill Muster graduated from the University of Illinois and devoted his life to capturing images for newspapers and media companies. He was a venerated member of the SATW  community. Since 1981, SATW has presented the Muster Awards and cash prizes for travel photography in a range of categories. After Bill Muster died in 1989, his children Nori and Bill Jr., generously continued their father’s legacy with an annual gift that funds the cash prizes awarded.

“Photographers tell stories with their cameras,” said SATW President Elizabeth Harryman Lasley, “and travel photographers use arresting images to reveal insights into the world’s landscapes, cultures, and people. The SATW Bill Muster Photo Awards honor some of North America’s best practitioners of this visual storytelling. We’re so grateful for the Muster family’s support of this award, one of the most  prestigious in travel journalism.” 

The awards are presented annually at SATW’s annual convention. The images must have been taken between July 1, 2022, and June 30, 2023, and entrants must be SATW members.

The following awards were announced at the 2023 SATW Convention in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

2024 Photographer of the Year

Gold: Eric Lindberg

Silver: Doug Peebles

Bronze: Carol Waller

Single Subject

Gold: Donnie Sexton

Silver: Art Meripol

Bronze: Cory Lee

Action Adventure

Gold: Stuart Dee

Silver: Mark Downey

Bronze: Mary Love

Merit Award: Vanessa Dewson


Gold: Kari Bodnarchuk

Silver: Mark Downey

Bronze: Robin Karpan

Merit Award: Greg Vaughn


Gold: Juliana Broste

Silver: Cosmo Condina

Bronze: Susan Portnoy

Merit Award: April Orcutt


Gold: Vanessa Dewson

Silver: Mark Downey

Bronze: Laura Watilo Blake

Merit Award: Susan Portnoy


Gold: Kevin Wagar

Silver: Susan Portnoy

Bronze: Art Meripol

Merit Award: April Orcutt

Natural Scenic

Gold: Debi Lander

Silver: Mark Downey

Bronze: Eric Stoen

Merit Award: Sandra Foyt

People (General)

Gold: Christopher Baker

Silver: Eric Stoen

Bronze: Lindsay Nieminen

Merit Award: Eric Stoen

People Portrait

Gold: Susan Portnoy

Silver: Mark Downey

Bronze: Stuart Dee

Merit Award: Chuck Cecil