The SATW Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition is the first established,
broad-based independent competition recognizing excellence in the field of travel journalism.




The Society of American Travel Writers Foundation (SATW Foundation), a nonprofit founded in the early 1980s, strives to support, celebrate and sustain travel journalism by recognizing and rewarding efforts in this highly competitive field.


The Foundation’s Lowell Thomas Travel Journalism Competition, open to travel journalists from around the world, honors works in more than two dozen categories, including print, digital, audio, video and photography. Entries are judged by an accredited U.S. university,  and winners are selected from among hundreds of submissions and announced at SATW’s convention.


The awards are named for Lowell Thomas, an acclaimed journalist, prolific author, and modern-day world explorer who achieved numerous “firsts” during five decades in travel journalism. Thomas is primarily known as a broadcast journalist, but his career touched nearly all disciplines. His dedicated spirit of adventure and discovery epitomizes that of the inquiring travel journalist.


Each year, for the Lowell Thomas competition, the SATW Foundation awards more than $22,000 in prize money to journalists and gives between 75 to 100+ awards to journalists and publications. The Foundation funds its work through donations, which are tax-deductible under the IRS Code Section 501 (c) (3). Donations are always welcome and recognized.


Please visit www.satwf.com to read about our competition guidelines and deadlines and join us on Facebook and Twitter at @SATWFoundation. You may also see a full list of past winners, judges’ remarks on recent winning entries.